Mango Macadamia Nut Larabars

ImageI’m the type of person who has to bake on an empty stomach. This is because I usually don’t use a recipe, and if I do, I’m modifying it a whole bunch to suit my dietary needs. So it’s a lot of trial and error.. and by trial and error, I mean it’s a whole lot of tasting on my part! Which really isn’t alllll that bad… =) … but it makes it difficult to duplicate the recipe later, especially when I just go at it and don’t write anything down! Homemade Larabars have always been one of these ‘taste as you go’ projects; it’s all about the texture, and ratio of sweetness to nuttiness. However, after having lots of recipe requests for these delectable little snacks, I’ve decided to start paying attention to how I make them!! Yay! This variation is a flavour combination I just knew would taste amazing! Mango, macadamia nuts, coconut.. it’s tropical bliss is a convenient little square! The great thing about Larabars is they really don’t need a precise recipe, so you can follow mine exactly, or add and remove as you please. Play around! Everyone says baking is a science, and to an extent it is, but when it comes to raw treats, you have so much more freedom to experiment and tweak the recipe to your liking. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t, but hey, that’s why I do most of the experimenting for you! =)

Mango Macadamia Nut Larabars
Grain Free, Gluten Free, Refined Sugar Free, Vegan, Raw

Ingredients:
1/2 cup pitted dates
1/2 cup unsweetened dried mango
1/4 cup to 1/2 cup hot water
1 cup macadamia nuts, ground into a flour
1/2 cup unsweetened coconut

Directions
1. Puree dates and mango in a food processor, adding hot water until it creates a thick, but smooth paste. (I needed the entire half cup, as my mangoes were very thin and dry, but you may not need as much!)
2. Add the macadamia nut flour, and food process until incorporated.
3. Add coconut, and pulse until incorporated to your liking. (I like mine to have bigger shreds of coconut, so I blend it less!)
4. Press mixture into a parchment lined container, and freeze until set.
5. Eat them up!! Store what’s left (if there is any!) in the fridge or freezer.

2 thoughts on “Mango Macadamia Nut Larabars

  1. I omitted the water and added the juice from 2 key limes, I also ground up the macadamia nuts first but they did not get floury but moist, so I put all the ingredients in and blended them together. When done, I rolled them into individual balls which were a bit greasy so I rolled them in some extra coconut flakes….so yummy!!

    • That sounds delicious! I’m glad you liked them! Yes if you blend the nuts too much they start to turn into a butter, but the good thing is this recipe is so versatile, which you obviously figured out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

